Ironman News

Jan Frodeno and Daniela Ryf Ironman 2016 World Champions

The German has revalidated the title won last year with a crushing victory. Daniela Ryf also revalidates the title and beats the test record.

articles_direct-ironman-kona-2016_Jan-frodeno-champion-world-ironman-hawaii-kona-2016 Jan Frodeno and Daniela Ryf Ironman World Champions 2016 Ironman News

Today, the Ironman World Championship in Kona (Hawaii) where 2.300 triathletes have faced the 3,8 km of swimming, 180 km of cycling and 42 km of running.

On the starting line we could see better professional triathletes of the specialty where there were 42 Spanish among them 4 professionals Eneko Llanos, who participated for the eleventh time in Kona, Ivan Raña, Gurutze Frades y Saleta Castro.

The race began at 16: 30 Spanish time with the 3,8 km of swimming where the men completed the segment with a large group in the lead where Harry Wiltshire, Andy Potts and Jan Frodeno were the first to come out of the water. Iván Raña left the 17º to 54 »and Eneko Llanos left 22º to 59» of the head of the race.

In the 180 km of cycling the controversy has been served from the beginning, since in the images it has been possible to see how the professionals went to the limit of the drafting, until they had to stop at 4, among them the World Champion Frederick Van Lierde in 2013 in the penalty Box.

articles_direct-ironman-kona-2016_penalty-box-ironman Jan Frodeno and Daniela Ryf Ironman World Champions 2016 Ironman News

The equality has marked the half of race where, in head, a group of 12 triathletes were only separated by 24 seconds. In this group were Jan Frodeno, Sebastian Kienle and Eneko Llanos among others. Eneko Llanos and Iván Raña have always been in the 20 top of the segment.

articulos_directo-ironman-kona-2016_eneko-llanos-foot-race Jan Frodeno and Daniela Ryf Ironman World Champions 2016 Ironman News

As it was logical in the final part the differences between the participants were increasing, a group of 7 triathletes arrived at the T2 in just 42 seconds apart. The first to arrive was Sebastian Kienle, followed by Andi Boecherer and Jan Frodeno, Luke McKenzie, Ben Hoffman, Boris Stain and Tim O'Donnel. A great Eneko Plains in a great level on the bike, I get to the T2 in eighth position to 3: 17 of the head of the race. Ivan Raña arrived at the T2 in the 26ª position more than 14 minutes from Kienle marking one of his best times in Kona.

articles_direct-ironman-kona-2016_ivan-frog-carrea-pie-kona Jan Frodeno and Daniela Ryf Ironman World Champions 2016 Ironman News

In the carrea on foot the first kilometers were exciting where we could see two World Champions like Jan Frodeno and Sebastian Kienle together in the lead. On the 15 kilometer Frodeno imposed a strong rhythm that helped him to gradually take advantage of his pursuer, in the passage through the half marathon and surpassed Sebastian Kienle in 1: 30

Finally Jan Frodeno got the victory with a time of 8: 06: 30.y revalidating the title won last year. The second place was for Sebastian Kienle (8: 10: 02), champion in 2014 ,. The third place was disputed until the end, and finally it was for Patrick Lange (8: 11: 14) that has broken the marathon record with a time of 2: 39: 45, which did not beat 27 years ago.

Behind a great Ivan Raña (8: 21: 51) with a spectacular race segment on foot was climbing positions to finally reach the ninth final place. Eneko Llanos in its eleventh participation kona I finish in the 27º position.

Provisional classification

1 8: 06: 30 Jan Frodeno
2 8: 10: 02 3: 33 Sebastian Kienle
3 8: 11: 14 4: 45 Patrick Lange
4 8: 13: 00 6: 31 Ben Hoffman
5 8: 13: 25 6: 56 Andi Boecherer
6 8: 16: 20 9: 51 Tim O'Donnell
7 8: 16: 56 10: 27 Boris Stein
8 8: 20: 30 14: 01 Bart Aernouts
9 8: 21: 51 15: 22 Ivan Rana
10 8: 21: 59 15: 30 Frederik Van Lierde

Female competition

articles_direct-ironman-kona-2016_daniela-rif-champion-world-iroman-2016 Jan Frodeno and Daniela Ryf Ironman World Champions 2016 Ironman News

As for the females, a group of 12 came out of the water in 15, where the first one to leave was Kessler, Meredith Segida de Swallow, Jodie and Cave, Leanda. Daniela Ryf right behind. Saleta Castro left the 16ª at 58 seconds and Gurutze Frades at 1: 02 at the head of the race. This year the record of swimming has been broken by lowering the 4 mark in 2015 minutes.

On the bicycle Danyela Ryf left along with Ana Berakek in the lead, surpassing half of the distance in about 3 minutes with respect to Mary Beth, Meredith Kessler, Jodie Swallow, Michele Verterby and Annabel Luxford. Gurtuze Frades was 30ª.

On the 140 km and Ryf demonstrated its quality by almost outdoing 2 minutes to their pursuers reaching the T2 alone with more than 8 minutes ahead of Anja Beranek. Gurutze Frades entered T2 at position 32 and Saleta Castro at position 40º

Already in the race on foot Daniela Ryf showed his great state of form by leaving alone and increasing the advantage over his pursuers in each kilometer, in the passage through the 16 km and was ahead of Anja Beranek in 15 minutes.

Finally Daniela Ryf gets his second consecutive victory and proclaims Iroman 2016 World Champion with a final time of 8: 46: 46. Mirinda Carfrae has finished second and Heather Jackson third. As for the Spanish Saleta Castro (10: 17: 50) I finish in the position 32º and Gurutze Frades (10: 18: 16) 33º with stomach problems.

Daniela with this crushing victory has beaten the career record with 8: 46: 46, employed in the 3,8 swimming km 52: 50, in the 180 cycling km 4: 52: 26 and in completing the 2: 56 marathon: 52

Photos @ leegruenfeld / Ironman / Facebook Fopto belisariopolis / Lava Magazine

You may also be interested
Button back to top
error: You can not do this action