Zoggs swimming goggles
Road surfers
Club La Santa Vuelta cycling Lanzarote 2024

Clemente Alonso and Cat Morrison win in Zarautz

Yesterday the mythical Spanish Triathlon event was held in the town of Zarautz, which this year marked the silver anniversary.

In a spectacular setting, with an incomparable setting for the celebration of a medium distance test like this, the test was attended by triathletes of great renown and international prestige, including several Spaniards. As a local favorite, I left Eneko Llanos, who only a few weeks ago was proclaimed champion of the Iroman of Texas, Clemente Alonso, Hektor Llanos, Francesc Godoy, the Olympic triathlete Ana Burgos, Saleta Castro, current champion of Spain of Long Distance Triathlon 2010 and Eva Ledesma, who only 15 days ago achieved the first position of the podium in the Half Challenge held in Calella, among other participating triathletes.

As a renowned triathlete and recognized prestige for all of us who have known this world since its inception, we were able to enjoy the presence of Iñaki Arenal, current Technical Director of the Madrid Triathlon Federation and tireless participant of the Zarautz event, which was already a winner in the second edition in 1988 with the unforgettable Dina Bilbao and then repeated on the podium in 1994 with Nerea Martínez.

Behind the curtain we could see Ainhoa ​​Murua, winner of this test in 2005, 2006 and 2009, and who is currently competing to maintain her score in the ranking to attend the London 2012 Olympic Games in which she currently has the first Spanish place in Female category.

During the competition, it was possible to enjoy a magnificent temperature that accompanied at all times, a swimming trip that began in the picturesque fishing village of Getaria, until reaching the beach of Zarautz, with a bike tour with a section of harshness when passing the Aia wall, which was compensated by the unconditional encouragement of all the spectators who came to accompany the triathletes in the test and a foot race in which we could enjoy the closeness of the athletes since the circuit It took place in the old part of Zarautz, full of people, who cheered on all the athletes until the last second before their arrival at the finish line

In the men's category, the victory went to Clemente Alonso with a time of 3.40: 42, who on arrival at the finish line made us the statements “I am very happy to have achieved this victory in Zarautz, I appreciate all the encouragement of the public that despite having A local favorite has encouraged me at all times, a very noble public, it is a pleasure to be able to compete in a place like this ”. Eneko Llanos arrived at 38 seconds, achieving second position, followed by Mathias Hecht with a total time of 3.44: 36

In the female category, Cat Morrison was proclaimed one more year champion of this test, followed by Anna Cleaver and the incombustible Ana Burgos, who achieved third position with a time of 4.24: 23. Another of the favorites, Saleta Castro, entered the finish line in fourth position.

The next TriGrandPrix appointment will be in Navarra, the registration period is still open

TOP 10 Male:

1. Clemente Alonso Triathlon Salamanca 3.40: 42

2. Eneko Llanos SVC-Seguridad Vitoria 3.41: 20

3. Mathias Hecht SUI 3.44: 36

4. Peru Alfaro Kraft At. San Sebastian 3.45: 03

5. Mikel Elgezabal Ipar Kutxa Bilbao 3.45: 08

6. Francesc Godoy Natació Barcelona 3.47: 10

7. Toumy Degham FRA 3.49: 25

8. Miquel Blanchard CN Sabadell 3.49: 40

9. Hervé Faure FRA 3.52: 29

10. Jon Unanue SVC-Seguridad Vitoria 3.54: 10


TOP 5 Feminine:

1. Catriona Morrison GBR 4.08: 27

2. Anna Cleaver NZL 4.16: 36

3. Ana Burgos Run2chema 4.24: 23

4. Saleta Castro Cidade de Lugo 4.28: 03

5. Julia Grant GBR 4.28: 52

There are no previous results.

Related publications

Button back to top