• Lanzarote cycling tour
  • Lanzarote cycling tour

Success in the fifth edition of the Iberman, Iberian Triathlon Championship

The Portuguese Fragoso and the Spanish Vic are crowned in the Long Distance. In Media Distancia, victories of the Spanish Orozco and the Filipa lusa

The Portuguese Algarve and the province of Huelva were the scene yesterday Iberian Championship Long and medium distance triathlon by Iberman with the collaboration of the local authorities and the Spanish, Portuguese and Andalusian Triathlon Federations, which culminated an event that celebrated its fifth edition in an outstanding manner, as demonstrated by the more than 400 participants from countries of eight countries that were past the line of goal.

At 7.45 in the morning there was a start at the spectacular Montegordo beach, which on this occasion would also be the finish area, after the triathletes made the 170 km by bike and the 42 km by foot.

The victory in masculine category would be for the Portuguese Joao Fragoso, that coming from behind culminated a great comeback after leaving room of the T2, where the Spanish arrived first Juan Francisco Fernández which was the fastest in the sum of the sectors of swimming and cycling, but which choked him the sector of the race on foot, where he was overtaken by the Portuguese Rafael Delaunay, winner in 2014, and also Portuguese Ruiz Costa, to complete a hundred percent Portuguese podium. Fragoso invested a time of 9 hours and 44 minutes, to 12 minutes Delaunay arrived and to 13, Costa.

In the female category the victory was for the Spanish Maria Jose Vic, which used a final time of 13 hours 19 minutes. The second position was for the lusa Ana Vieira (13 hours 38 minutes), and completed the Swedish women's podium Marie Sandberg, which employed a total time of 13 hours 39 minutes.

Iberman podium 2017

In the Media Distancia, the first two places of the male general were for the Spanish Gonzalo Orozco y Julio Peña, completing the podium in Portuguese Nelson Palma. In the Iberian Championship, reserved only for federated triathletes, Orozco repeated in the first place, Palma, went up to the second and completed the photo of honor the Spanish Josu Allica.

The female victory would be for the lusa Ana Filip, followed by also Portuguese Liliana Verissimo and of the Luxembourger Susanne Gutjahr.

Further information: http://www.ibermantriatlon.es/

Photos @ibermantriatlon

Button back to top