Gustav Iden IRONMAN 2022 World Champion breaking the test record

This morning a new edition of the IRONMAN World Championship.

Practically all the best athletes of the specialty have been in the test and we have been able to experience a great show in the mecca of triathlon.

In swimming, a very compact group was formed with 19 triathletes in just 19 seconds with almost all the favorites ahead.

Patrick Lange, Lionel Sanders, Magnus Ditlev or Sebastian Kienle were 4 minutes behind the first Florian Angert.

In the first kilometers of the cycling segment, a duet was formed with Sam Laidlow and Max Neumann leaving alone passing through PK 50 with a 1:10 advantage over the chasing group.

About km 80 they caught up with the leading duet Magnus Ditlev, Kristian Blummenfelt and Gustav Iden, but Sam Laidlow countered and went off again to solo into T2 with a lead of 6:15 over Iden, 6:21 over Blummenfelt and Newman.

In the foot race, the Norwegians who were running together were little by little closing the distance on Laidlow to pass through km 28 at 2:22 from the leader.

From here Blummenfelt was left behind, leaving the fight for victory to his compatriot who continued to close the gap on Sam.

Iden caught up with Laidlow at km 35 of the race, leaving him behind and going solo to win the title.

Finally Gustav Iden got the victory with a 7 time: 40: 24 followed by Sam Laidlow (7: 42: 24) and for Kristian Blummenfelt (7: 43: 23) in second position.

Best time in Kona and record in the marathon

The Norwegian Iden has also managed to beat the best time in Kona de Jan Frodeno in the 7 test (51:13:2019) with a time of 7:40:24.

He has also achieved the best time in the marathon of this race with 2:36:15.

Winner debuting at Kona

Gustav has achieved the victory with the best time and also in the debut in this race as did Chelsea Sodaro in the women's event.

This had never happened before, so all statistics to date are broken

Gustav Iden times in IM Kona 2022

These have been the times of Gustav

  • Swimming: 48:23, average of 1:15 min/100m
  • T1: 2: 21
  • Cycling: 4:11:06, average 43,01 km / h
  • T2: 2: 22
  • Race on foot: 2:36:15, average 3:42 min/km

Men's 10 Top

Site Name Time
1 Gustav Iden  07:40:24
2 Sam Laidlow  07:42:24
3 Kristian Blummenfelt  07:43:23
4 Max neumann  07:44:44
5 Joe Skipper  07:54:05
6 Sebastian Kienle  07:55:40
7 Leon chevalier  07:55:52
8 Magnus ditlev  07:56:38
9 Clement mignon  07:56:58
10 Patrick Lange  07:58:20

Check the full results IRONMAN

Related publications

Button back to top
Change privacy settings