Triathlon News

Rubén Ruzafa will try to revalidate the title of XTERRA World Champion next Sunday

Next Sunday 26 October will be played in the Hawaiian city of Maui the Xterra World Championship where the Spanish Ruben Ruzafa will try to repeat the victory achieved last year.

Rubén Ruzafa this year leaves as a favorite since he has managed 9 wins in 9 tests disputed until the moneto where the ITU Cros Triathlon World Championship got in Zittau

The distance of the test will be 1,5 km of swimming followed by a BTN circuit of 30.4 km to finish the test with 9,5 km of trail running where the professionals will compete for the world title and the 105.000 dollars in prizes

Ruzafa leaves as a clear favorite, but will have to face with triathletes the likes of Conrad Slotlz , 4 times XTERRA champion and 3 times ITU champion, which this year has won the Xterra from England and Denmark.

The American Josiah Middaugh who was proclaimed USA champion last month will be another opponent to consider. . Another triathlete to take into account will be Dan Hugo, XTERRA Champion of Asia-Pacific. Asa Shaw y Ben Allen second and third last year, Leo Chacon, Brent McMahon , Brendan Sexton o Brad Weiss that has been top 4 in the last 2 years will be the ones that compete for the positions of honor of the test

41 countries will be represented in the test, where 50 men will participate in the male elite test and 31 in the female

In the female category, the Canadian Melanie McQuaid is the favorite to win the championship and may be the first woman to win 3 Xterra World Championships. But surely the winner of last year Nicky Samuels will not make it easy

Male start list

AUSTRALIA: Ben Allen, Chris Legh, Nick Moore, Brendan Sexton

AUSTRIA: Michi Weiss

BELGIUM: Bart Aernouts, Yeray Luxem, Jim Thijs, Rob Woestenborghs

BRAZIL: Felipe Moletta CANADA: Brent McMahon, Jean-Philippe Thibodeau

COSTA RICA: Rom Akerson, Leonardo Chacon

CZECH: Jan Kubicek, Lubos Truhlar

FRANCE: Francois Carloni, Brice Daubord, Romaric Delepine, Arthur Forissier, Nicolas Hemet, Cedric Lassonde

GREAT BRITAIN: Matt Dewis, Rory Downie, Jon Heasman, Llewellyn Holmes, Asa Shaw

JAPAN: Takahiro Ogasawara, Yu Yumoto

MEXICO: Mauricio Mendez



SLOVAKIA: Tomas Kubek

SOUTH AFRICA: Dan Hugo, Grayson Keppler, Conrad Stoltz, Brad Weiss

SPAIN: Ruben Ruzafa, Albert Soley

SWEDEN: Philip Tavell


USA: Chris Ganter, Ryan Ignatz, Josiah Middaugh, Joshua Merrick, Branden Rakita, Cody Waite, Noah Wright, Brad Zoller

Female start list

AUSTRALIA: Dimity-Lee Duke, Penny Hosken, Charlotte McShane

AUSTRIA: Sandra Koblmueller, Carina Wasle

BERMUDA: Flora Duffy

CANADA: Danelle Kabush, Melanie McQuaid, Chantell Widney

CHILE: Barbara Riveros

CZECH: Helena Erbenova

GERMANY: Maud Golsteyn, Kathrin Muller

GREAT BRITAIN: Louise Fox, Jacqui Slack

JAPAN: Mieko Carey NETHERLANDS: Judy Vandenberg

NEW ZEALAND: Sarah Backler, Elizabeth Orchard, Nicky Samuels


SWITZERLAND: Renata Bucher

USA: Caroline Colonna, Genevieve Evans, Emma Garrard, Maia Ignatz, Kara LaPoint, Sara Schuler, Suzie Snyder, Debby Sullivan, Shonny Vanlandingham

The race will take the exit to the 09: 00 AM local time (21: 00 hours in Spain)

Further information:

Photo: Xterra

Button back to top
error: You can not do this action