Ironman News

Bart Aernouts and Lucy Charles win the Club La Santa Ironman Lanzarote 2017. Peru Alfaro fourth and Saleta Castro fifth

{wbamp-meta name = »image» url = »/ images / stories / news / bart-Aernouts-winner-ironman-lanzarote-2017.JPG» width = »300 ″ height =» 150 ″}

The Belgian Bart Aernouts with a comeback on the bike has achieved a clear victory on the island. Peru Alfaro has fourth and Saleta Castro fifth. Lucy Charles has mastered the test from beginning to end.

Today the XXVI edition of the Club la Santa Ironman Lanzarote cwith the best edition in its history thanks to the presence of 6 winners of the test: Jesse Thomas (2016) Tine Holst: (2016) Alessando Degasperi (2015) Diana Riesler (2015) Romain Guillaume (2014) Lucy Gossage (2014), y Víctor del Corral (2012).

Bart Aernouts winner Ironman Lanzarote

The test began at 7 in the morning with the swimming 3,8 km to two laps where the fastest was Georgii Kaurov completing the sector in 46:58, closely followed by the Spanish Carlos López, Skechers triathlete, Peru Alfaro started 6 seconds and Stephen Bayliss 7. Romain Guillaume came out 1:31 over the head, while Alessandro Degasperi at 3:35, Bart Aernouts at 3:36, Jesse Thomas at 3:37 and Víctor del Corral with about 9 minutes of disadvantage compared to the leaders of the proof.

In the first kilometers of the sector cyclist, with more than 2.500 meters of positive elevation gain, Romain Guillaume, winner of the test in 2014, in the first part of the circuit reached the leading group consisting of Stephen Bayliss, Carlos López, Peru Alfaro and Giorgii Kaurov to later continue alone and get at kilometer 33 more than 1 minute advantage over your pursuers.

swimming start Ironman Lanzarote

In the 98 km pass Romain Guillaume led the race followed just 2 seconds behind by Bart Aernouts, eighth in Kona last year, with a comeback of more than 3 and a half minutes. Jesse Thomas passed at 4:14, Alessandro Degasperi at 5:23 and Cyril Viennot +5: 35.

In the final part of cycling, Bart Aernouts increased his lead to reach T2 with a 2:31 advantage over Romain Guillaume and a 7:13 lead over Jesse Thomas, last year's winner of the race. Alessandro Degasperi, Cyril Viennot and Peru Alfaro arrived together at 10:37 of the race head. Carlos López entered the 16th position, Xavier Torrades in the 18th and Iván Tejero in the 25. Víctor del Corral has not been able to finish the cycling segment and has withdrawn due to an infection that has happened in recent days.

The 42 km of foot race that this year premiered new travel with just 2 laps, the first of 30 km reaching Arrecife and the second of 12 along Avenida de las Playas to Matagorda and back to find the goal, he was excited from the start as Romain Guillaume with a spectacular transition in T2 he reduced Aernouts' lead to start running just 30 seconds apart although at km 5 of the foot race he had to stop in the bathroom which caused the gap between the two to widen again to 1:30. On the other hand, Jesse Thomas forgot to put on his bib so he had to come back for him, losing 30 more seconds.

In the first 15 km of foot race Bart Aernouts increased his advantage to 4:46 over Romain Guillaumey leads and 7:57 over Jesse Thomas, behind Alessandro Degasperi he was cutting time and already less than 2 minutes over the third of the test. Peru Alfaro passed in fifth position at 14:46 from Thomas.

Passing through km 21, the Belgian Bart Aernouts continued increasing his advantage to 8 minutes over the second classified, Jesse Thomas, Alessandro Degasperi was cutting time to pass with 1 minute in third position, Roman Guillaume passed in fourth position while Peru Alfaro made it to the fifth, but quite a distance from the French.

Finally a great Bart Aernouts he knew how to manage his advantage and got the final victory in the XXVI edition of the Ironman from Lanzarote in a time of 8:34:13, which is the second fastest time in this test.

In the last part of the race the Italian Alexander Degasperi finally advance to Thomas, to leave alone and get the second final place with a time of 8: 43: 23 followed by the North American Jesse Thomas (8:49:02) in third position.

A spectacular Peru Alfaro With a great sector of race on foot, he obtained the fourth final position, reaching the finish line with a time of 8:52:31. Romain Guillaume shortly after reaching the finish line in fifth position, he collapsed and had to be taken to attend to them. We don't know his condition yet, but hopefully it was just a scare.

The winner, Bart Aernouts commented upon reaching the goal, "Although I got off the bike well, I did not have all of it with me since Guillaume went very fast, It is one of the most beautiful races in which he has participated and I will try to return "

Peru Alfaro he told us upon arrival «It has been a two-year hiatus, first due to tonsillitis surgery and then due to a broken clavicle. This year I have prepared the test with Eneko Llanos as coach and the forecasts and the rhythms that we had planned have been met. Although I had never competed in this test, if I know it well I already spend seasons in Lanzarote training and luckily I know the circuits.

I have my next Ironman planned for July or August. We'll see what the coach says!"

TOP 10 provisional

1st Bart Aernouts 8:34:13

2nd Alessandro Degasperi 8:43:23

3rd Jesse Thomas 8:49:02

4th Peru Alfaro 8:52:31

5th Romain Guillaume (8:57:01)

6th Samuel Huerzeler 08:59:07

7th Timothy Van Houtem 09:01:13

8th Cedric Lassonde 09:14:50

9th Guillaume Lecallier 09:15:46

10th Trevor Delsaut 09:19:17

Female test

As for the women's event, Lucy Charles, recent winner of the Challenge Lisbon, was the clear dominator of the test from the beginning.

Lucy Charles in the Cycling Sector

Lucy Charles came out first in the water, taking the sixth time overall, completing the 3,8 km swim in 47:06, beating the second-ranked Kate Comber by more than 5 minutes. Saleta Castro The third came out of the water at 8:35 from the leader of the test. Lucy Gossage finished the water in more than 13 minutes and Tine Hoslt in 16.

In the cycling sector, the British increased the distance m, where in the 100 km race she led Jeanne Collonge in 13 minutes and Lucy Gossage in 15. Saleta Castro, when she was eighth on the bike, suffered a puncture that made her lose time with respect to the race leaders.

British Lucy Charles came in first place in T2 with a cycling sector of 5:23:29, beating the cycling record of the test achieved by Tara Norton (5:26:23) in 2010, beating Lucy Gossage at 19:47 and Jeanne Collonge at 20:19. Saleta Castro entered T2 in seventh position at 32:50 from the British.

As for the foot race, the British did not have problems to maintain the advantage We could see the emotion in the fight for the second position where Jeanne Collonge and Lucy Gossage had a nice duel for several kilometers so that Collonge finally led Gossage in 1 ; 45 km 20 race. At that same point Lucy Charles led them in more than 18 minutes.

Finally the british Lucy Charles, atelta sponsored by Skechers, He achieved victory in the test in a time of 9:35:40, with an advantage of 8:49 over the second classified was Corinne Abraham (9: 44: 29) and Lucy Gossage (9.50.22) winner in 2014 took third place finish.

A large Saleta Castro has achieved the fifth final place in a 10 time: 11: 15 while Patricia Bueno that debuted in the professional category finished in a tenth place.

Provisional Classification

1st Lucy Charles 9:35:40

2nd Corinne Abraham 9:44:29

3rd Lucy Gossage 9.50.22

4th Jeanne Collonge 10:04:46

5th Saleta Castro 10:11:45

10th Patricia Bueno 11:38:09

Photo Bart Aernouts / Lucy Charles

News sponsored by

Skechers Perfomance


Related publications

Button back to top
error: You can not do this action