Triathlon News

Javier Gómez Noya and Iván Raña will receive the Olympic order

It is the highest distinction awarded by the Olympic Committee to an athlete

The Spanish Olympic Executive Committee has unanimously granted the 2019 Olympic order to Javier Gómez Noya and Ivan  for his career and merits as athletes.

Javier Gómez Noya five times ITU World Champion, Olympian in 2012, 2 times IRONMAN 70.3 World Champion, XTERRA World Champion and this year LD Champion in Pontevedra will receive this award for his great sports career and promotion of sport.

Ivan Raña, Triathlon World Champion The 2002 y 3 Olympic times (Sidney, Athens and Pekin) is one of the most important athletes in our sport and one of the most relevant ambassadors of long-distance Triathlon in our country.

IVán Raña will receive the Olympic order
ITU / Janos Smith / Iván Raña proclaiming himself world champion in 2002

Mario Mola will receive the 2019 outstanding athlete award

Mario Mola wins WTS Montreal
AND YOU/ Mario Mola wins WTS Montreal 2019

The same executive committee has decided that  Mario Mola, 3 times World Champion will also receive an award, at featured athlete 2019  in recognition of his important work and contribution to Olympism.

What is the Olympic order?

The Olympic order is awarded for specially distinguished contributions to the Olympic Movement, that is, in recognition of the value of the effort as merit for the cause of the sport.

 In the following link, you can find the list of awarded with the Olympic Order to date.

The presence of  Marisol Married, president of the ITU, is also on the list from the 2010 and José Hidalgo, President of the Spanish Triathlon Federation who received this award in 2013.

In the list are characters like Mireia Belmonte, Rafael Nadal o Marta Domínguez among others.

Last week we also learned that Mario Mola and Fernando Alarza have been awarded the gold and bronze medal of the Royal Order of Sports Merit.

A colossal way to end the year for the Spanish triathlon.

From Triathlon News we are happy for all our athletes as it rewards with this award a race dedicated to our sport

Related publications

Button back to top