Sara Guerrero fourth in the European Sprint Triathlon

Today the final of the European Sprint Triathlon Championship and Mixed Relay was held in Balikesir, Turkey, which on this occasion was held under a semifinal and final format.

In the women's category victory has been for Mathilde Gautier, in a competition that has been held over distances of 300 meters of swimming, 8 kilometers of cycling and 1,7 kilometers of running.

The swim was led by Mathilde Gautier, leaving a compact but stretched test behind it. Sara Guerrero, the Spanish hope, was in tenth position, just 6 seconds behind the leader.

In cycling, a first front squad made a cut to the chasing group, where the other two Spanish qualified for the final were going: Cecilia Santamaría y Maria Casals; While Irenal Arenal I was rolling further back in a third group.

Everything was decided in the final foot race, where Mathilde Gautier was again the fastest to win the test with a second over the German Selina Klamt and five seconds over the British Jessica Fullagar.

For its part, Sara Guerrero she stayed on the verge of medals, being fourth just 1 second from the podium in a final sprint that decided everything.

As for the rest of Spanish, Cecilia Santamaría it was 12ª, Maria Casals 15ª e Irenal Arenal 44 ª.

Top 10 female

Job title Athlete Country Final time
1 Mathilde Gautier FRA 01:00:12
2 Selina Klamt GER 01:00:14
3 Jessica Fullagar GBR 01:00:22
4 Sara Guerrero Manso ESP 01:00:24
5 Audrey Merle FRA 01:00:32
6 Tanja Neubert GER 01:00:55
7 jule behrens GER 01:00:54
8 Alberte Kjaer Pedersen THE 01:00:55
9 Tilly Anema GBR 01:01:07
10 candice denizot FRA 01:01:05

Esteban Basanta, the Best Spanish

In the men's final, the Galician Stephen Basanta He was the only one to qualify for the final, finishing in tenth position.

The victory in the test was for Ricardo Batista followed by Lasse Priester y Richard Murray third.

The differences were so minimal in these tests that Basanta closed the TOP-10 just 25 seconds behind the winner.

Men's 10 Top

Job title Athlete Country Final time
1 Ricardo Batista BY 00:41:12
2 Lasse Nygaard Priester GER 00:41:21
3 Richard Murray NED 00:41:32
4 Baptiste Passemard FRA 00:41:36
5 Hamish Reilly GBR 00:41:49
6 emily holm THE 00:41:49
7 Jonas osterholt GER 00:41:57
8 Alessio Crociani ITA 00:42:09
9 Jannik Schaufler GER 00:41:58
10 Esteban Basanta Fouz ESP 00:42:09

Related publications

Button back to top