• Lanzarote cycling tour
  • Lanzarote cycling tour

Laurens Verluyten and Lydia Dant win the Club La Santa Volcano Triathlon 2024

The Belgian Laurens Verluyten and the British Lydia dant today they achieved victory in the 40th edition of the La Santa Volcano Triathlon Club, the oldest triathlon event in Spain.

The test, held this Saturday in Lanzarote, brought together more than 500 triathletes from 20 different countries.

The triathletes faced 1,5 kilometers of swimming in the saltwater lagoon of Club La Santa, 40 kilometers of cycling along a circuit that passed through Caleta de Caballo, Soo, Caleta de Famara and Teguise, and finally, 10 kilometers of running race around Tinajo.

Verluyten and Dant dominate the race

Verluyten proved to be the strongest in the cycling segment, where he took the lead and maintained the advantage until the end of the race. Baelde and Ward completed the men's podium.

In the women's category, Dant took the lead from the beginning of the cycling segment and maintained a considerable distance over her rivals until the finish line. Bams and Schink took second and third place, respectively.

The first edition in 1984

The Volcano Triathlon is a prominent event in the Spanish triathlon calendar since its first edition in 1984.

The event has witnessed the exploits of some of the best triathletes in the world, and year after year it attracts participants of all levels.

More than just a race

In addition to the sports competition, the Volcano Triathlon also offers a festive and family atmosphere.

Throughout the day there was music and activities for spectators to enjoy. In addition, an institutional cocktail party was organized on Friday afternoon and a children's race on Saturday morning.

The Volcano Triathlon is an important sporting event that helps promote Lanzarote as a tourist destination.

The island offers ideal conditions for triathlon practice, with a warm climate, impressive landscapes and a wide range of accommodation and services.


Male category:

  1. Laurens Verluyten (BEL) – 01:58:26
  2. Sybren Baelde (BEL) – +0:33
  3. Nicholas Ward (ESP) – +1:52

Female category:

  1. Lydia Dant (UK) – 02:10:12
  2. Audrey Bams (BEL) – +10:38
  3. Lina Schink (GER) – +11:42


  1. Latitude 29 (ESP) – 02:11:05
  2. Throw Potatoes (ESP) – +7:43
  3. Machines Power (ESP) – +20:40

Button back to top