Cycling news

10 curiosities about the return to Spain that you didn't know.

We echo this news published by the antena3, where they have looked for 10 curious anecdotes that you surely did not know.

Tomorrow, August 24, the 74th edition of the Vuelta will begin, where 22 teams and 176 cyclists will participate where they will surely not offer a show at the highest level. Alejandro Valverde will come out with number 1

Alejandro Valverde won La Vuelta ten years ago. This year, La Vuelta 19 will start as one of the three former winners of the round in contention for a new title, along with Fabio Aru (2015) and Nairo Quintana (2016).

The most curious anecdotes of the return.

1. The Vuelta Ciclista was born in 1935

Following the idea of ​​Clemente López Doriga, cyclist and Spanish journalist, in collaboration with Juan Pujol, director of the newspaper 'Informaciones', with the idea of ​​creating a race within our territory with the same characteristics as the Giro d'Italia or the Tour de France .

2. The first winner of the first edition of the Vuelta a España was the Belgian cyclist Gustaaf Deloor t

It was after an epic battle with the Spanish Mariano Cañardo, who finished in second place. In addition, the Belgian repeated the title in the next edition and, from this moment until 1941, the Vuelta was suspended as a result of the Civil War.

3. In its first edition, the Vuelta a España was characterized by the orange worn by the leader jersey

No team could wear the same color. Since then it has gone through red, white and red, yellow, gold from 1999 and, currently, since 2010, the color is red.

4. Julian Berrendero, was the first Spaniard to win the Vuelta a España

He was known as "The Negro with Blue Eyes", and achieved the first victory for Spain in the Tour of Spain in 1941.

5 Until 1995, the race was played in the months of April and May

From that moment until today it is celebrated between the months of August and September.

The Tour of Spain has suffered several stops throughout its history. From the editions between 1937 and 1940 due to the Civil War, passing through the period from 1943 to 1944, consequence of the Second World War, until the year 1949 and from 1951 to 1954, which were also suspended.

6. The Spanish Roberto Heras, is the cyclist with the most victories in the Vuelta a España

With a total of four crowns: 2000, 2003, 2004 and 2005. The Swiss Tony Rominger followed with three, tied with another Spaniard, Alberto Contador, winner in the 2008, 2012 and 2014 editions.

7. The cyclist with the most stage victories in the Vuelta a España is the Spaniard Delio Rodríguez

With a total of 39, ranking at the top in the history of the race.

8. The smallest time difference achieved between the first and second classified was in the 1984 edition

The difference was only 6 seconds between the winner, Eric Caritoux, with respect to the runner-up, Alberto Fernández.

9. In 1982 the first doping case occurred, days after the end of the race.

The Spaniard, Ángel Arroyo, won the Paseo de la Castellana in Madrid, but was later disqualified for testing positive for a methylphenidate anti-doping test.

10. In 1997 La Vuelta began for the first time outside the national territory.

Specifically, he kicked off in Lisbon, Portugal, as a result of the 98 Expo.


Related publications

Button back to top
error: You can not do this action