Triathlon News

What is the Collins Cup?

This competition that is based on the Ryder Cup of Golf,

Yesterday this novel competition With the support of most of the best triathletes in the world.

Among the athletes, the World Champions Jan Frodeno, Anne Haug, Daniela Ryf, Sebastian Kienle or Alistair Brownlee, Javier Gómez Noya stand out. Also the Spaniards Pablo Dapena and Judith Corachán have added to the movement

This competition that It is based on the Ryder Cup of Golf, It is promoted by the PTO, the professional organization of triathletes, and will be held in May on the same stage as The Championship.

3 teams, USA, Europe and the rest of the world

As in the well-known competition in the world of Golf, the Ryder Cup, the Collins Cup is based on the same concept, with 3 teams that will compete for 2 million dollars in prizes, USA, Europe and rest of the world.

Each team will be made up of 12 professional triathletes, six men and six women following this classification system

The team made up of 12 triathletes will be formed in this way: 8 athletes (four men and four women) will be classified through the PTO Ranking, while the remaining 4 athletes (two men and two women) will be selected by the Members of the PTO Board

PTO Ranking Elected by the PTO Committee
Men 4 2
Women 4 2

What format does the competition have?

One athlete from each team will compete in one Individual test in medium distance format.

This means that hwill open 12 rounds of 3 participants each, leaving with a difference of 10 minutes between one another.

The day before the race, the Captains of each team will select the matches of the individual events through a predetermined selection system

  • For the first round, the United States will designate an athlete, then Europe and, finally, the rest of the world
  • In the second round Europe will select first, then the rest of the world and the USA will finish. USA
  • In the third round the rest of the world will choose first, then the United States, and Europe will finish. This process will be repeated in the rest of the 12 rounds. .

The scoring system

Each of these rounds will award a few points for each selection. In addition, athletes will receive bonus points for each 2-minute stretch with which they outperform the second classified

This is the point system.

Post Points
1 3
2 2
3 1
Difference Points
If you win for more than 2 minutes 0,5
If you win for more than 4 minutes 1
If you win for more than 6 minutes 1,5

Who will win?

The team with the highest amount of points after 12 o'clock he will be the winner of the Collins Cup

The team that finishes last will receive the trophy The Broken Spokes and for the next 12 months they will have the ignominious title, with the sole objective of passing this title to another team in the next edition

It is intended for television viewing

PTO CEO Sam Renouf comments: “The Collins Cup is designed to be a live television event that attracts not only endurance sports fans, but the sports enthusiast as a whole. "

This point-based competition format has already been tested in the Ryder Cup and ensures excitement until the end »

You can check all the information on their website

Related publications

Button back to top
error: You can not do this action