Javier Gómez Noya wins the Abu Dhabi World Series

He five times World Champion has returned to compete in the World Triathlon Series reappearing with a victory after suffering the accident that forced him to miss the Olympic Games.


Hosted by:

Santini Triathlon

Yesterday we were able to live an exciting race in the women's event, where Andrea Hewitt got the victory in a agonizing sprint and today it was the turn of the men's event where our "Triarmada" formed by Javier Gómez Noya, Mario Mola, Fernando Alarza y David Castro They have been at the great level that was expected.

The test has been held in Olympic distance (1,5 km swimming, 40 km cycling, 10 km running) with a new, highly technical and "leg-breaking" circuit, as we could see yesterday in the women's event on the Formula 1 circuit.

Among the favorites were Richard Murray or your compatriot Henri Schoeman, Cristanto Grajales, Kristian Blummenfelt . Joao Silva or French Vicent Luis that reappeared in a circuit test.

At the 13: 55 was the start of the race, where the best swimmer was the Frenchman Aurelien Raphael, followed by a group of 20 units in 13 seconds where Javier Gómez Noya was.

Fernando Alarza and Mario Mola went to 40 seconds behind, while Richard Murray left more than a minute from the head. David Castro suffered a mishap in the water that destroyed the competition suit and that later had to stop to put on a shirt in the transition which made him lose enough time during the race until he was finally doubled and disqualified.

Once on the bike they faced the 40 km of cycling, where in the first kilometers a group was formed at the head with 10 units where they were Gómez Noya, Vicent Luis, Polyanskiy or Schoeman among others. Behind a second group with Mario Mola, Fernando Alarza, Joao Pereria or Richard Murray with about a minute behind the head of the race.

Finally the group of 2 triathletes with Javier Gómez Noya, Vicent Luis, Thomas Bisop, Henry Schoeman and Igor Polyanskiy arrived at the T10 with an 1 advantage: 10 over the second group of Mola, Alarza and Murray.

In the career sector of 10 kilometers long, Javier Gómez Noya and Briton Thomas Bisop imposed a strong pace to go solo in the first kilometers of the race on foot. They were increased the advantage with respect to the rest until the last kilometer the Galician made a strong attack with the one that left to Bisop leaving to by the victory.

Finally Javier Gómez Noya got the victory in a time of 1: 52: 31, followed by the British Thomas Bisop (01: 52: 45) and by French Vicent Luis (01: 53: 08) in third final position.

Behind a great Fernando Alarza with the best part of the race on foot he was climbing positions to finish in the fourth final position. Mario Mola He finished in eighth position.

Javier Gómez Noya winning the Abhu Dhabi World Series

With this victory Javier Gómez Noya has shown everyone his great form and although he is focusing on competing in the middle distance, we will surely see him fighting in more tests of the WTS during this 2017.

The next appointment of the WTS will be in Australia, Gold Coast the 8 and 9 in April.


1. Javier Gomez Noya 1:52:31
2. Thomas Bishop 1:52:45
3. Vincent Luis 1:53:08
4. Fernando Alarza 1:53:18
5. Richard Murray 1:53:25
6. Joao Pereira 1:53:38
7. Gregory Billington 1:54:00
8. Mario Mola 1:54:06
9. Andrea Salvisberg 1:54:20
10. Henri Schoeman 1:54:35


Photo: ITU / Janos Smith


There are no previous results.

Related publications

Button back to top