Marisol Casado, in the 'top ten' of the most innovative sports leaders

La President of the International Triathlon Federation (ITU) and member of the International Olympic Committee (IOC), the Spanish Marisol Married, figure in the 'top ten' of the most innovative sports leaders, according to the magazine 'SportBusiness International'.


   Marisol Casado is the only woman on this list of 20 members, in ninth place, just ahead of Sir Sebastian Coe, president of the Organizing Committee of the Olympic Games in London 2012.


   For SportBusiness International, Casado's request that the mixed relay format be included in the Rio de Janeiro Olympic Games at 2016 "is an intelligent and appropriate method to attract media attention and increase sports participation".


    The list of the ten top innovators is headed by British Channel 4 Chief Executive Officer (CEO) David Abrahm, for his coverage of the Paralympic Games, ahead of Manchester United's Commercial Director Richard Arnold and UEFA President Michel Platini, second and third.


   Casado was re-elected ITU president at the 25 ITU Congress, held in October in Auckland. In addition to its campaign to include the mixed format and paratriathlon in the Olympic and Paralympic programs, Casado is recognized for its commitment to gender equality and its support to emerging National Federations.


   Under the leadership of Casado, national federations have grown an 20 percent in the last period. Currently, the ITU is the only International Olympic Federation with a female President and General Secretary.



   .1. David Abrahm, CEO Channel 4).

   .2. Richard Arnold, Commercial Director of Manchester United.

   .3. Michel Platini, president of UEFA.

   .4. Dietrich Mateschitz, co-founder of Red Bull.

   .5. Travis Tygart, CEO of the US Anti-Doping Agency (USADA).

   .6. Dominic Coles, COO of London 2012 at the BBC.

   .7. Brett Yormark, CEO of Brooklyn Nets and Barclays.

   .8. Christian Seifert, CEO of the German Bundesliga football.

   .9. MARISOL CASADO, president of the ITU and member of the IOC.

   10 Sir Sebastian Coe, president of the London Organizing Committee 2012.


There are no previous results.

Related publications

Button back to top